By the Numbers: 17 Years of the Globe Series of Poker (WSOP) at the Rio

By the Numbers: 17 Years of the World Series of Poker (WSOP) at the Rio


The poker planet has reached the finish of an era with the Planet Series of Poker (WSOP) concluding its final bracelet occasion at the Rio All-Suite Hotel &amp Casino.

Next summer, the series will move down the road to the Las Vegas Strip, the first time the WSOP will take spot anyplace but the Rio given that 2004, when it was hosted at Binion’s downtown.

On June three, 2005, Anthony Nguyen shipped the $500 Casino Staff No-Limit Hold’em tournament, the very first bracelet ever won at the Rio, owned at the time by Harrah’s Entertainment, which later became Caesars Entertainment. Allen Cunningham was the very first player to win an open bracelet occasion at the close to-Strip property, getting taken down a $1,500 NLH tournament two days right after Nguyen’s win.

The final bracelet won at the Rio, out of the 1,030 total awarded, occurred on Tuesday, with Boris Kolev winning Event #88: $five,000 eight-Handed No-Limit Hold’em, precisely 6,019 days given that the off-Strip casino initial opened its doors to the Planet Series of Poker.

In in between the initial champion and the last winner there have been much more memorable moments than we can count. But we did dig up some fascinating stats on the WSOP in the course of the Rio era, starting with the G.O.A.T. of the WSOP, Phil Hellmuth, who is unsurprisingly the only player to win far more than 5 bracelets at the Caesars-owned resort.

Hellmuth, who won his 16th bracelet final month in Event #31: $1,500 No-Limit 2-7 Lowball Draw, collected six shiny gold bracelets at the Rio. Four others won five, and they are listed as follows:

Player Rio Bracelets Last Rio Bracelet
Phil Hellmuth 6 2021
Shaun Deeb five 2021
Brian Rast five 2021
Brian Hastings five 2021
Jason Mercier 5 2016

Legends Make History at the Rio

Doyle Brunson

Doyle Brunson and Johnny Chan‘s greatest accomplishments were behind them by the time the WSOP left Binion’s following the 2004 series. But they every made history at the mega resort.

For the duration of the initial month the series took place at the Rio in 2005, Chan became the 1st player ever to reach 10 bracelets when he shipped a $2,500 pot-limit hold’em tournament. 4 days later, Brunson reached the double-digit bracelet plateau by taking down a $five,000 no-limit hold’em event. Neither player has because won a WSOP title, despite the fact that they each nevertheless compete in the occasional bracelet occasion.

Hellmuth would catch up the following summer time in a $1,000 no-limit hold’em tournament, and then win his 11th in 2007, a record no a single else has since achieved. Phil Ivey is the only other player to win 10 bracelets, but only 4 occurred at the Rio. The Poker Hall of Famer won his 10th in 2014 when he took down a $1,500 eight-game mix tournament.

Negreanu’s Mixed Bag of Benefits

Daniel Negreanu

There are two approaches to analyze Daniel Negreanu‘s performance in bracelet events at the Rio. The very first is for those who look at championships as the measuring stick for player achievement. And the other looks at the all round physique of work (titles, final table appearances, cashes, awards, and so forth.).

Considering that 2008, Negreanu hasn’t won a single bracelet at the Rio, although he won two overseas in 2013. But he’s reached 26 final tables — two in the previous handful of days — at the Las Vegas casino more than that span, which is impressive in itself. The GGPoker ambassador won his lone bracelet at the Rio in 2008, and has since gone -7 when heads-up for a bracelet.

Daniel Negreanu’s Most Mind-Boggling WSOP Stat at the Rio

Master of the Min-Money

Roland Israelashvili

Roland Israelashvili has made 1 of the most intriguing poker careers ever. With 304 cashes in WSOP and WSOP Circuit events, he holds the all-time record, but he’s never won a bracelet, despite the fact that he does have eight circuit rings.

At the Rio, Israelashvili racked up 131 cashes, more than any person in history. But he did so without winning a bracelet, never reaching heads-up for a bracelet, and only reaching 3 final tables. He’s the consummate min-casher, maybe even more so than Allen Kessler.

Major Event Champions and Winning Bracelets

Chippy the WSOP Mascot with 2017 Main Event Winner Scott Blumstein

Winning poker’s most prestigious annual occasion doesn’t necessarily mean you happen to be a excellent player. Because 2005, the WSOP has crowned 17 various globe champions, and only four of those winners have multiple bracelets — Joe Cada (four), Joe McKeehen (3), Jonathan Duhamel (3), and Greg Merson (2).

In total, the WSOP champs in the Rio era have won just eight bracelets outdoors of the Major Occasion. Going back even additional, none of the champs from 2002-2004 — Robert Varkonyi, Chris Moneymaker, or Greg Raymer — have won a second bracelet. Instances sure have changed since the 1990s and earlier when Primary Occasion champs had been often several-time bracelet winners.